We all have a stake in success of Aboriginals

The Calgary Herald by Brynn Doctor 21 December 2012

Any time a discussion surrounding investing in the future of First Nations peoples arises, one of the first arguments made is that the aboriginal people should be doing for themselves, advocating for themselves, and should stop expecting handouts from the government.

 

Why we mourn – and move on

The Globe and Mail by Jill Scott 20 December 2012

There’s no right or wrong way to mourn the young lives lost in the Newtown massacre, but mourn we must. Ceremony and ritual are deeply human experiences, a need we have to fill.

 

All I want for Christmas is… Playboy merchandise?

The Chronicle Herald by Katherine Reed 8 December 2012

Sometimes an incident comes along that leaves a person struggling for a sensible response, often because it raises important questions about our sense of who we humans are and where we’re headed. The case in point is my discovery in this year’s Sears Wishbook of two pages worth of Playboy-branded merchandise. It features the iconic Playboy emblem — the cute little bunny face with the big silky ears.

 

Smart Women Speak Up Challenge

Heather Kirk, Director of Real Estate Equity Research at National Bank, responded to the Informed Opinions “Smart Women Speak Up Challenge” on December 5 and agreed to appear on BNN to provide expert analysis on a take-over bid.

 

Federal job cuts will seriously impact Atlantic Canada

The Chronicle Herald by Christine Saulnier 28 November 2012

According to the Public Service Commission, 1,057 federal government positions had been lost in the Atlantic region to the end of March 2012. In addition to these losses, a new Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives-Nova Scotia report projects that at least 4,400 full-time equivalent jobs will be lost by the end of March 2015. Several hundred more jobs will be lost in federal Crown corporations. We can expect at least double the estimated number of jobs will actually be lost when we consider those lost in the private sector.

 

Workplace related breast cancer

CBC Radio Newfoundland: Central Morning interviewed Informed Opinions participant Dayna Nadine Scott 21 November 2012 about government cuts to women’s health research and the implications for our knowledge and understanding of breast cancer.

 

Nova Scotia needs evidence on CETA

The Chronicle Herald by Christine Saulnier and Angela Giles 1 November 2012

EU officials were in Halifax last week selling the benefits of the CETA for Nova Scotia, but saying very little about the costs. This newspaper reported officials as reassuring Nova Scotians that we will benefit, or at least our fisheries industry will benefit. As for costs, apparently we shouldn’t worry too much about the patent term extension of generic drugs, or about removing municipalities’ ability to consider local benefits in procurement contracts. The evidence to support why we shouldn’t worry was not reported in the media.

 

Officials must stop demonizing Omar Khadr

The Law Times News and Toronto Star by Catherine Morris 10 October 2012

The Canadian government has claimed Omar Khadr had the benefit of due process in the United States.

 

More women won’t make politics sweeter

The Calgary Herald by Melanee Thomas 10 October 2012

A funny thing happened after the recent meeting between Alberta Premier Alison Redford and B.C. Premier Christy Clark. A common headline for news accounts about the meeting reported it was “short but not sweet.”

 

SFU Public Square – a new space where minds can meet

Vancouver Sun by Carole Taylor and Andrew Petter 24 September 2012

Should librarians sell books, steal books – or both? Should our public libraries become the new out-lets for a publishing industry challenged by increased concentration and piracy, or should they join the pirates, ripping copies of popular videos and teaching patrons how to access material on rogue websites?

 

Most Vancouverites are happy with their social connectedness

Vancouver Sun by Vickie Cammack and Donna Thomson 21 September 2012

The recent Vancouver Foundation survey of social connectedness Alone Together found three-quarters of those polled reported satisfaction with their friendships. Yet a reading of the media and public reaction to the study would lead anyone to be alarmed that most city residents were friendless and disconnected from their neighbourhoods.

 

Why Canada shouldn’t let businesses sue for defamation

The Toronto Star by Hilary Young 17 September 2012

In 1990, McDonald’s Corp. sued two Britons — a gardener and an unemployed postman — in defamation. It accused them of saying that McDonald’s food is unhealthy, that the company exploits children through advertising, and that it is anti-union, among other things. After a seven-year trial in which McDonald’s reportedly spent £10 million in legal fees and the two defendants spent about £40,000 that they raised through public donations, McDonald’s won a partial victory and was awarded £60,000 in damages.

 

The library: a community’s place to gather

The Vancouver Sun by Baharak Yousefi 12 September 2012

I didn’t grow up with books. My family didn’t go to libraries. In fact, I don’t come with any of the typical librarian origin stories of a childhood spent falling in love with the written word. The first library I ever visited was my school library in the eighth grade, the year my family immigrated to Canada. I went in and never left. I didn’t care what they had on the shelves; I looked at everything. I looked because I couldn’t yet read in English. A year later, I read.

 

Limited options turn loving relatives into end-of-life advocates

The Ottawa Citizen by Debby Hanscom 10 September 2012

Let’s say someone you love, for whom you would do anything in your power, is terminally ill. Their diagnosis is clear and irreversible: they’re going to die. Soon, but — in light of the dependency and pain their illness delivers — not soon enough to avoid tremendous suffering. What can you do to help them?

 

The currency of racism in Canada

The Toronto Star by Rakhi Ruparelia 22 August 2012

When does a $100 bill resemble a burger? When the Bank of Canada decides to “neutralize” the image of a woman that seemed to focus group participants to be Asian. Apparently, the new bill, like a Canadian burger, has no recognizable ties to ethnicity. They’re just “regular,” neutral, ethnicity-free entities — in essence, the default category for everything not found in the lone “ethnic food” aisle in my grocery store.

 

Textbooks and tutorials versus learning from patients

Registered Nurse Journal by Bev Chambers July/August 2012

In 1981, with four years of nursing experience under my belt, I applied to study midwifery in Scotland, a post-RN program that was not available in Ontario. In order to practise as a registered nurse in the UK, I had to work two months as a student on the surgical floor at victoria hospital in Kirkcaldy. I was not looking forward to this as I had already worked as an RN in Canada, but I did it because I was determined to go to midwifery school.

 

Our laws provide little defense against humiliation

The Globe and Mail by Susan Drummond 30 July 2012

Have you ever permitted a lover to take nude photographs of you? Photos you would really prefer weren’t made accessible to the entire world? Does it terrify you to be reminded by the current inquiry involving Manitoba Associate Chief Justice Lori Douglas that you’re potentially as vulnerable as she is to such humiliation?

 

Judge not lest ye be spanked

The Globe and Mail by Karen Busby 23 July 2012

After days of incredible testimony, the sexual harassment complaint against Manitoba judge Lori Douglas appears to be lacking in substance. Had the Canadian Judicial Council’s inquiry committee followed the advice of the preliminary review panel and the independent counsel not to hear Alex Chapman’s complaint, this entire spectacle could have been avoided.

 

Guilt by association: the London 2012 Olympics

freespeechdebate.com by Teresa Scassa 16 July 2012

The OlympicGames will take place in London in the summer of 2012. This innocuous factual statement contains four words (underlined) that are on a list of words that raise a presumption of ambush marketing under the London Olympic Games and Paralympic Games Act. In its guidebook for non-commercial entities who might happen to reference the Games, the London Olympic Games Organising Committee (LOGOC) warns that magazine or web-posted articles about the games are “normally permitted”, but that “a book, magazine or website focusing on the Games or London 2012 will need approval”. Factual statements about the Games are “acceptable” as long as they do not place emphasis on protected words.

 

How can we help the healing from residential schools?

The Ottawa Citizen, The Victoria Times Colonist and The Saskatoon Star Phoenix by Julie Cafley 19 July 2012

For the first time in my life, I felt ashamed of being Canadian. I was in a Saskatchewan community centre, with tears of sadness streaming down my face.

 

Mobilizing Knowledge: Re-visioning Research Dissemination

by Jill Scott Queen’s University 2012

Jill Scott, Queens University prof and successfully published Informed Opinions grad, recently presented some fresh ideas on knowledge mobilization at Congress 2012. Cartoons, Freud, celebrities — and some good ideas a on becoming an expert.

 

Canada needs a national energy strategy

The Hill Times by Dayna Nadine Scott 25 June 2012

It may seem like a measure of economic desperation that while municipal politicians across the country are fighting to keep their citizens protected from toxic emissions, Mike Bradley, the long-time mayor of Sarnia, has raised his hand to say, “Bring it on.”

 

Canada needs to restore faith in the justice system:

Vancouver should follow the example set by London, which gave rioters there a chance to take responsibility

The Vancouver Sun by Brenda Morrison 19 June 2012

It’s a tale of two cities, and the contrast casts Vancouver as the loser.

Last year, a few months after the post-Stanley Cup rampage, London witnessed similarly devastating property damage, burning cars and clashes with police. But the parallel ends when it comes to what happened afterward in seeking to hold those responsible to account.

 

Opening a public square: SFU closes gap in ‘disconnect’

The Vancouver Sun by Andrew Petter and Carole Taylor 18 June 2012

What is the issue of greatest concern in Metro Vancouver?

The Vancouver Foundation asked that question last year in one of the largest public consultations in its history – and it got a surprising response. It wasn’t poverty or homelessness, although those both made the short list. The issue that respondents reported as giving them the most concern was one that speaks directly to every member of our community and that touches on the very fabric of our society. It was isolation and disconnection. It was a concern that our sprawling metropolis is “fragmented, disjointed, split along economic, ethnic, social, even geographic lines.”

 

Sharing the milk of human kindness

CBC News Nova Scotia interview with Informed Opinions participant Martha Paynter 5 June 2012

A group of women who share breast milk are hoping to see a more official arrangement at the children’s hospital in Halifax.

 

Bold action with an aging tool kit: Toward a true Canadian innovation strategy

Policy Options by Nobina Robinson May 2012

Swift response to some of the “Jenkins Panel” recommendations on programs that support business innovation was a hallmark of the recent federal budget. There are also hints at more to come for the innovation ecosystem in Canada. Operational and governance changes are more crucial than ever before to modernize the way government supports the needs of Canada’s high-growth firms. Canada needs an Innovation Strategy in addition to its existing Science and Technology Strategy.

 

There is no limit to mothering

The Kingston Whig-Standard by Bev Chambers 12 May 2012

I was in the garden tackling a voracious weed. I was conscious of the robin’s nest in the corner and was trying not to prevent the parents from bringing the worms to their babies. The sun was shining.

 

In the Rasouli case, an opportunity to clarify patients’ rights and doctors’ powers

The Globe and Mail by Hilary Young 2 May 2012

Hassan Rasouli is at the centre of a debate about withholding a patient’s life-sustaining treatment. The Supreme Court was set to hear Mr. Rasouli’s case. Now, with the revelation that Mr. Rasouli is not in a persistent vegetative state, the case has been thrown into doubt. However, given the importance of the issues at stake and the uncertainty in the law, the Supreme Court should take this opportunity to clarify the law.

 

Teen dating violence is no joke

The Toronto Star by Anuradha Dugal 17 April 2012

Apparently, it was supposed to be funny.

In an effort to capitalize on the celebrity of Chris Brown, the hip hop artist who was convicted of assaulting his former girlfriend Rihanna, a Georgia restaurant recently created a new sandwich: “The Caribbean Black and Bleu.”

 

It’s up to all of us to bear witness

The Times Colonist by Maxine Matilpi 8 April 2012

In February, I attended the Truth and Reconciliation Commission hearing in my northern Vancouver Island Kwakiutl community of Fort Rupert. Although the event was open to the public, I was disappointed at how few nonindigenous people attended.

 

More voices needed on national food strategy

The Waterloo Record by Steffanie Scott 22 February 2012

Who’s setting the table for the food that Canadians are eating? And who should be involved in establishing a national food strategy for this country?

 

Family Day: Another day of work for many women

On the second or third Monday of February Canadians in the provinces of Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, and British Columbia have a statutory holiday aptly named Family Day. As the name implies, Family Day is meant to recognize and celebrate the importance of families having time together, but also the value of family life to communities.

 

It’s time to crowdsource through open innovation

The Hill Times by Giovanna Mingarelli 20 February 2012

What is open innovation? And how can it be used to bring about measurable change to business and government?

These are two questions that have stayed with me since attending the World Economic Forum last month in Davos, Switzerland.

 

Making Parliament work for parents

The Ottawa Citizen by Nancy Peckford 12 February 2012

The babies in the House controversy on Parliament Hill earlier this week may look like a woman’s issue, but just because men can’t nurse their babies doesn’t mean that male MPs wouldn’t also benefit from a few family-friendly policies in their workplace.

 

My father, a literate man

The Kingston Whig-Standard by Bev Chambers 3 February 2012

The whistling swans were back in Elevator Bay this fall. I first saw them several years ago. Every day while driving to work I would sneak quick glances at the swans. They fascinated me.

 

New young leaders emerge from Davos

The Globe and Mail by Giovanna Mingarelli 1 February 2012

A powerful new force of self-empowered change was introduced at this year’s World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland: the Global Shapers Community.

 

Why care less about the disabled fetus?

The Globe and Mail by Roxanne Mykitiuk 19 January 2012

In a controversial editorial on sex selection in the Canadian Medical Association Journal, interim editor-in-chief Rajendra Kale identified female feticide as an “evil” that “devalues women.” In his view, the deliberate use of ultrasonography to identify female fetuses followed by their abortion in some ethnic groups “is about discrimination against women in its most extreme form.” But why stop at gender? What about disability?

 

Good luck, EU, with that budget resolution

The Globe and Mail by Lisa Philipps and David Clarke 10 January 2012

Just in time for the holidays, European Council President Herman Van Rompuy announced a new “fiscal compact” among European Union members (aside from Britain, which so far has refused to play). The deal is meant to secure the value of the euro by imposing tough new budget limits in each country. We hate to spoil the party, but this is probably no more binding than a New Year’s resolution.

 

Beyond BPA: We need to get tough on toxics

The Globe and Mail by Dayna Nadine Scott 4 January 2012

Did you breathe a sigh of relief when Canada became the first jurisdiction in the world to declare bisphenol A (commonly known as BPA) toxic in 2010? OR when it banned the chemical in baby bottles, prompting many manufacturers to remove it from their products?