Contact Information for Canadian Publications

We endeavour to keep the following list of editors’ email addresses and their desired word counts current. Please let us know if you find any of them to be in need of updating.

Calgary Herald* (500 words)
David Marsden, Editorial Pages Editor, dmarsden@postmedia.com

Le Devoir
Marie-Andrée Chouinard, machouinard@ledevoir.com

Le Droit
Pierre Jury, pjury@ledroit.com or André Larocque, alarocque@ledroit.com

CBC News Online
Robyn Urback, Comment Editor robyn.urback@cbc.ca

The Edmonton Journal* (600 words)

Mark Iype, Editor, miype@postmedia.com

The Globe and Mail (650 words)
Natasha Hassan, Op ed Pages Editor, comment@globeandmail.com

The Globe and Mail Report on Business (600 words)
Rob Gilroy, Editor, ROBopinion@globeandmail.com

The Halifax Chronicle Herald (700 words)
newsroom@herald.ca

The Hamilton Spectator (650 words)
Howard Elliot, Managing Editor, helliott@thespec.com

The Hill Times
Kate Malloy, Editor, kmalloy@hilltimes.com

Huffington Post
Canadian blog team, cablogteam@huffingtonpost.com

iPolitics
Doug Beazley, Deputy Editor, dougbeazley@ipolitics.ca 

The Mark
Editor, editor@themarknews.com

The Montreal Gazette* (800 words)
Op ed submissions, opinion@montrealgazette.com

National Newswatch online news hub
James Anderson, Editor, janderson@nationalnewswatch.com

The National Post*
Matt Gurney, Comment Editor, Op ed submissions, submissions@nationalpost.com

The Ottawa Citizen* (800 words)
Christina Spencer, Editorial Pages Editor, cspencer@postmedia.com

Ottawa Sun (600 words)
Keith Bonnell, Editor in Chief, keith.bonnell@sunmedia.ca

Policy Options (800-1200 words)
Jennifer Ditchburn, Editor-in-chief, jditchburn@irpp.org

La Presse
Jean-Pascal Beaupré or Christiane Clermont, forum@lapresse.ca

Regina Leader-Post* (600 words)
Tim Switzer, City Co-ordinator, tswitzer@postmedia.com or citydesk@leaderpost.com
Please note: Paper has very little space for op eds; it has been advised to call first to pitch idea: 306-781-5300 (600 words or letter to editor of 250 words)

St. John’s Telegram (800 words)
Commentary Editor, letters@thetelegram.com

Sun Media (400 words)
Kevin Hann, Deputy Editor, khann@postmedia.com

The Toronto Star (750 words)
Scott Colby, Opinions Editor, scolby@thestar.caoped@thestar.ca

The Tyee (800 words)
David Beers, Editor, editor@thetyee.ca

Vancouver Sun* (750 words)
Harvey Enchin, Editorial Pages Editor, henchin@vancouversun.com

Victoria Times Colonist (650 words)
Dave Obee, Op Ed Pages Editor, dobee@timescolonist.com

Waterloo Region Record (550-600 words)
John Roe, Op Ed Editor, JRoe@therecord.com

Windsor Star* (650 words)
Roseann Danese, Editorial, rdanese@windsorstar.com

Winnipeg Free Press (550 words)
Shannon Sampert, Perspectives and Politics Editor, shannon.sampert@freepress.mb.ca

*indicates newspaper is part of the Postmedia chain

The Op Ed Project website has an excellent listing of the top 100 most influential print and online publications in the US, available at: http://www.theopedproject.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=47&Itemid=65

Letters to the Editor are a good alternative if you don’t have time to write a polished 700-word essay. The letters sections of most newspapers are extremely well-read. Check their submission and publication guidelines online or in the paper. Write to the length requested or expect to be edited or ignored altogether.

FOR EXAMPLE:

The Globe and Mail welcomes letters on any subject but reserves the right to condense and edit them. Brevity counts. All letters should be less than 200 words, and must include the name, mailing address and daytime phone number of the writer. The copyright becomes the property of The Globe and Mail if they are accepted for publication. You may also reach us by fax at 416-585-5085. letters@globeandmail.ca

The Academic Minute – features professors from top institutions around the country, delving into topics from the serious to the light-hearted, keeping listeners abreast of what’s new and exciting in the academy with topics ranging from updates on groundbreaking scientific research to an explanation of how the board game Monopoly can help explain the economic recession. Hosted by Dr. Lynn Pasquerella, the segment features a different professor every day, drawing experts from institutions within WAMC’s listening area, and beyond.
To submit your idea or for addition information, contact:
Katie Britton – News/Program Director
tel: 1-800-323-9262 ext 111
email: kbritton@wamc.org or academicminute@wamc.org